Skip to main content

Upload a document

Upload documents to Sage HR and share them with one employee, multiple employees, or everyone.

If your company uses the Core HR module, you can upload company or employee documents to Sage HR.

You can share documents with:

  • All employees

  • Selected employees

  • Only yourself

📎NOTE: Employee users can upload documents only if an admin grants permission.


Where you can upload documents

You can upload documents from three locations on the Sage HR website:

  • Documents in the main menu

  • Documents in your profile or an employee profile

  • Quick actions in the top‑right corner

The steps below use the main menu.


Upload a document

  1. Select Documents, then Upload document.

  2. Select Drop files here or drag and drop the file.

    📎NOTE: Valid file types are Word documents (.doc, .docx). PDFs (.pdf), Excel files (.xlsx) or text files (.txt).

  3. Add a description if needed.

  4. Select a document category.

  5. Select who you want to share the document with.

  6. Select Upload.


Choose employees to share with

When uploading a document:

  • You can select multiple employees for most categories

  • Select all applies only to the filtered list

  • Uploading from an employee profile selects that employee by default

By default, Sage HR doesn’t share documents with team managers or direct managers.

You can choose to share documents with managers if you have permission.

📎NOTE: Admins always have access to all documents.


Require employee acceptance

If you’re an admin, you can select Require employee to accept the document.

This creates a task for the employee to approve or decline the document.
You can also set a deadline.

📎NOTE: Only admins can require document acceptance.

📌 TIP: To avoid having to resend a document each time someone joins, share it with Everyone. New employees who meet the criteria will automatically receive the document and acceptance task. Existing employees who have already accepted keep their status and are not prompted again.

⚠️ CAUTION: If you edit a document and change the recipient list, the list is completely replaced with whoever is selected when you save. Removing specific named employees means they lose access to the document and their acceptance records are not retained. However, changing to Everyone, or re-selecting Everyone, preserves existing acceptance records.


Send email notifications

Select Send email notification to notify employees by email.

📌 TIP: Admins can see who has access to each document in the Documents list.

FAQ

What do I need to upload documents?

You need:

Can I upload documents in bulk?

No. You can upload only one document at a time.

Can I upload documents to multiple employees?

Yes. Select multiple employees or select Everyone.

📎NOTE: Selecting Everyone shares the document with all users in your company.

Are documents available in the mobile app?

Yes. Documents are available in the Sage HR app.

Can I categorise documents?

Yes. Select a category when you upload the document.

If you have permission, you can create new categories.

To move a document, select the pencil icon, change the category, then upload.

📎 NOTE: Document categories require the Core HR module.

Can you sign documents digitally?

Yes, but you must use the eSignature workflow.
​

Can employees upload documents?

Yes, if an admin enables this in settings.

Why would my file fail to upload if it is a supported format size?

You cannot upload documents that are password protected, since this encryption prevents our anti virus/malware scanner from being able to verify the document as safe, and will cause the file to be rejected. Remove any passwords from the document and try again.

📎 NOTE: Sage HR uses 128 bit encryption for stored documents, and access is controlled from within Sage HR.

If the document you are uploading is held in cloud storage (like Microsoft OneDrive, iDrive, or Google Cloud) or is in a folder that is synced to cloud storage, Sage HR may not be able to access it. Save a copy of the file to a local folder that does not sync to your cloud storage and upload it from there instead.

Did this answer your question?