When an employee leaves or is going to leave the company for whatever reason, to no longer show them as an active employee in Sage HR you need to terminate them.
📌TIP: If you integrate with Sage 50cloud Payroll for online payslips, it is recommended to process the employee as a leaver in Sage 50cloud Payroll before you terminate them in Sage HR - Read more >
⚠️CAUTION: If you integrate with Sage 50cloud Payroll (UK only), termination is irreversible.
As an administrator, go onto the relevant employee's profile. By default you are on the Employee tab of the profile menu.
Scroll down to the bottom of the page.
Bottom right, click Terminate.
Enter the date they left the company.
If they haven't left yet you can set this date in the future.
Select a reason.
📌TIP: If you have the Core HR module, you can choose which reasons appear and their order - Read more >
If required, enter any additional comments.
📌TIP: If you integrate with Sage 50cloud Payroll (UK only) for online payslips, if the employee has their Sage HR Online Services record linked with their record in Sage 50cloud Payroll, a request is sent so you can import leaver information into Sage 50cloud Payroll - Read more >
What happens next?
Once terminated, the employee now no longer shows as an active employee, and will no longer show in the Company Directory after their termination date.
The employee now shows in your terminated employees report which you are automatically taken to after you click Terminate. Here you can re-hire them if they were terminated by accident or they return to the company.
📎NOTE: If you integrate with Sage 50cloud Payroll (UK only), you must follow the steps in our other guide on how to process re-hire a leaver into Sage HR Online Services - Read more >
If you are sure you no longer want any record of the employee any more, you can delete them.
⚠️CAUTION: If you delete an employee you can't re-hire them. You will have to manually add them again.