When you terminate an employee in Sage HR, it is not deleted. Instead, all of the information is kept as it was at the time of terminating. This makes it possible to view a leaver's details if required, and edit their leaving information such as to change their termination date, or reason for leaving.

📎NOTE: If you wish to delete an employee, follow these steps instead - Read more >

If you have administrator access, you can view a list of all past employees.

  1. On the main menu, click Reports.

  2. Click Employee data, then click Terminated employees.

Here you will see a list of terminated employees, in order of termination date.

📌TIP: If you need to export this information, click Export.

When you click on an employee's name it opens their profile - from there you can access time off details or any other documents which were added for this employee.


Edit a terminated employee

If you need to amend an ex-employee's termination date, reason for leaving, or want to add any additional comments to their termination, click on the pencil icon ✏️, make your changes, then click Save.


Delete an employee

To delete an employee click on the rubbish bin icon. Please be aware that this action can't be reversed, and removes all record of the employee ever existing in Sage HR - Read more >


Rehire terminated employee

If an employee returns or you terminated an employee by accident, you can use the rehire function - Read more >

📎NOTE: This option isn't available if you use Sage HR Online Services which is integrated with Sage 50cloud Payroll (UK only). For alternative steps - Read more >

Did this answer your question?