When you terminate an employee. in Sage HR, their profile remains available until you delete it.
If you've deleted the employee, you can't rehire them using these steps. You need to manually add the employee again.
📎NOTE: When you originally terminate an employee in Sage HR, their profiles still exist until you delete them. If you have deleted the employee, you cannot follow these steps, and will have to manually add them again.
Re-hire employee
Log in as an administrator.
From the main menu, select Reports.
Select Employee data, then Terminated employees.
Select Re-Hire next to the employee.
📎NOTE: Re-Hire isn't available if your Sage HR company integrates with Sage 50 Payroll or Sage Payroll.
Select the date the employee started working for the company again.
If required, enter a reason for rehiring.
Choose how you want to manage the employee's existing policy data:
Start fresh starts the employee with fresh policy data and keeps their previous time off requests for reference
Keep old data recalculates allowances using previously accrued and used days in the current period up to their last working day
📌TIP: Select Keep old data if you accidentally terminated the employee and they aren't leaving.
Click Re-hire.
The employee now appears as an active employee and no longer appears under Terminated employees.
📎NOTE: You need to re-assign the re-hired employee to the 'Employee' role.
Does the employee need another welcome email?
The employee will usually already have a Sage account from their previous employment.
You don't need to send another welcome email if they already have an account. They can log in using their existing Sage account details.
If they've forgotten their password, they can select Forgot password? when they sign in.
Show when the employee wasn't employed
You can't show a period of non-employment directly. However, you can create a position that shows this. For more details, see Show a gap in an employee's employment history.
