When you terminate an employee, you are asked to select a termination reason.

There a multiple reasons to choose from by default, but these can be edited if required. You can edit their names, change the order they appear in, or even create new reasons.

📎NOTE: Only admin users can follow these steps.

To get to termination reasons:

  1. Click your name in the top right, then click Settings.

  2. On the settings menu click Employee data, then click Termination reasons.

Skip to:


Add new termination reason

  1. Click Add new.

  2. Enter a title


  3. Select whether the termination is voluntary or involuntary i.e. employee has chosen to leave, or employer has decided they must leave.

  4. If required, you can enter termination reason code.

  5. Click Save.

The new reason appears at the bottom of the list.

📎NOTE: The only termination reasons you can delete are the ones you have created. To delete one, click on the rubbish bin icon.


Edit a termination reason

  1. Next to the termination reason icon, click on the pencil icon.


  2. Make your changes, then click Save.


Change order of termination reasons

The order that your termination reasons show is how they will appear in the drop down when selecting a reason when you terminate an employee.

If you want to change this order it's quick and easy to do.

  1. Next to the termination reason icon, click and hold on the arrows.

  2. Drag the reason up or down.

  3. Let go when you're happy with where you want the reason to be placed.


    Your order has now been amended.


Return to Set up offboarding

Did this answer your question?