Employee permissions is where you control what employees can or can't do in Sage HR. This article runs through how to get to these settings and the options available to amend employee permissions.

To get to employees permissions:

  1. Click your name in the top-right hand corner, then click Settings.

  2. On the settings menu, click Permissions, then click Employees.

Skip to:


General permissions

You can select what you want employees to see on the shared calendar or company page:

  • Employees can see all other employees from ALL teams.

  • Employees can see all other employees from just THEIR team - This is set as default.

  • Employees can only see their own information.

If required, you can select to show a team manager even if they are part of a different team.

To save these changes, scroll down to the bottom and click Save.

📌TIP: If required, you can select to not allow employees to see email addresses. Employees who are not direct or team managers will not be able to their colleagues emails. Managers will be able to see emails of their direct reports and team members only.


Permissions for time off requests

Select what dates employees can request time off for:

  • For any date, including past dates

  • For any date starting from the current month

  • For any date in the future

Other time off permissions you can configure:

  • Allow employees to cancel their approved time off requests - By default employees are able to cancel their approved time off requests until the date they are on.

  • Require time off cancellation approval for time off requests which have been approved but then tried to be cancelled by the employee - By default employees are able to cancel their approved time off requests without approval of a manager.

  • Show "details" content when hovering on a time off request in calendar - both in the Dashboard and the Calendar


Access to org chart

If you don't want employees to see the hierarchy of your business, clear the option Allow access to Org Charts.


Access to payslips after termination - Sage 50cloud Payroll integration only

If you want ex-employees to still be able to access their payslips after their termination date, you can set it so they can access it after:

  • 7 days

  • 30 days

  • 1 year


Access to Employee info card Card in Directory

If relevant, you can select Enable access to Info Card in Directory, this then shows the following options:

  • Show direct manager's name in info card

  • Show employment start date in info cards

📎 NOTE: To save these changes, scroll down to the bottom and click Save.


Allow employees to send tasks

If you want employees to be able to create and send tasks select Allow to send tasks to other employees.


Control what employees can edit

You can choose what to allow your employees to edit. These include:

  • Work email

  • Employment status

  • Nationality

  • Profile picture

  • Date of birth


📎 NOTE: To save these changes, scroll down to the bottom and click Save.

Did this answer your question?